NOME, Alaska (AP) — Dallas Seavey ran a blistering pace and took the lead just hours before the finish to win this year's Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race.

Seavey was the first musher under the famed burled arch in Nome. Minutes later, second place finisher Aliy Zirkle finished amid cheers.

He had to come from a three-hour deficient to overcome mushers Jeff King and Zirkle in the last 77 miles. He was third into the second-to-last checkpoint in White Mountain, where mushers are required to take an eight-hour rest.

The 27-year-old Seavey also won the race in 2012.

Zirkle also finished second in 2012 and 2013.

(Story by: Mark Thiessen, The Associated Press)