Steuben, NY (WIBX) - Nine northern Oneida County forests are the target of a new long-term management plan led by the state's Department of Environmental Conservation.

On July 19th, starting at 6 p.m. at the Steuben Town Hall, the public will have a chance to talk with DEC staff about the history, ecology and uses of Oneida County's forests. Following the informal meeting is a presentation about the unit, with a chance for public input regarding future plans.

According to officials, the forests picked are in the towns of Ava, Boonville, Lee, Steuben and Western, totaling 13,460 acres of state land. Forests within the plan are Buck Hill, Canada Creek, Clark Hill, Jackson Hill, Penn Mountain, Point Rock, South Hill, Webster Hill and West Branch.

The DEC says the goal of the forest management plan is to provide healthy, sustainable ecosystems while maintaining a high level of diversity in the chosen areas.

Comments regarding the project will be accepted through the end of September.