A bill that would place term limits on state legislative leadership positions has passed in the Senate.

The legislation was sponsored by Senator Joseph Griffo.

It would limit the terms of the temporary president, speaker and minority leaders to 12 years.

It was also limit the tenure of any committee chairman to eight years, with the exception of the Rules Committee.

Griffo calls it the first step in building a better system of government.

A companion bill now awaits action in the Assembly.