Central New York (WIBX) - Farmers and producers impacted by frost or freezes earlier this year may be eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency.

According to Congressman Richard Hanna, the USDA has declared several counties, including Madison, Oneida and Herkimer counties, disasters.

The designation allows farmers suffering losses to apply for FSA Emergency Loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program.

Eligible farmers have eight months from the date of declaration to apply for assistance.

Counties eligible due to frost and freezes after March 1, 2012:

Primary counties: Broome, Cayuga, Madison, Ontario, Oswego and Seneca

Contiguous Counties: Chenango, Cortland, Herkimer, Oneida, Otsego, Tioga and Tompkins

Counties eligible due to excessive snow and freezes between April 1 and April 30, 2012:

Primary county: Tompkins

Contiguous Counties: Cayuga, Cortland, Seneca and Tioga