For the first time since 1999, three players will be named to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.
Frank Thomas, Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine will be enshrined in the Hall on July 27, one year after nobody made the cut.

In addition to the three players, managers Joe Torre, Tony La Russa and Bobby Cox were elected unanimously on the Expansion Era ballot in December.

In order to make the Hall of Fame eligible candidates need to named on 75% of the 571 ballots submitted by the Baseball Writer's Association of America. That means 429 votes were needed to get in.

Former Houston Astro Craig Biggio missed the cut by a total of two votes. That ties Nellie Fox in 1985 and Pie Traynor in 1947 for the smallest margin in ballot history.