The Mohawk and Ilion Teachers Associations are sponsoring a "Meet the Candidates Night" at Herkimer County Community College.

Twenty-one candidates are vying for seven open positions on the newly-created merged school board for the previously separate districts.

As of March 21, 2013 at 2:02pm twelve candidates had confirmed that they would be participating in the event.

Ilion Teachers Association President Andrew Goldman credited Shelly McCarthy, President of the Mohawk Teachers Association, with setting up the event.  Both groups are working together.

Each candidate will be given two minutes to speak and there will be a question and answer session for members of the public.

A link to profiles of each candidate can be viewed by clicking here.

The candidates are:

  • Robert Berger
  • Robert Bronner
  • Orlo Burch
  • Bonnie Coffin
  • Stephen Coupe
  • Thomas Goldin
  • Hans Hendrick
  • Edward Jackson
  • Vicki Judd
  • Daniel LaLonde
  • William Lennox
  • M. Bridget McKinley
  • Jennifer Pedersen
  • Melissa Reed
  • Walt Roginski
  • Fred Schell
  • Deborah Schoff
  • Lori Sementilli
  • Matthew Shedd
  • Jeffrey Sperl
  • James Vitale

The event takes place from 7:00pm to 9:00pm in Room 288 of the Robert McLaughlin College Center Building.