Utica, NY (WIBX) - Nearly 30 counties in New York State have been declared disaster areas because of crop damages and losses from this summer's drought.

According to the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Oneida, Madison, and Lewis counties were among the 29 primary disaster areas listed. Ranchers and farmers in these counties may apply for low interest emergency loans from the USDA's Farm Service Agency.

Farmers in another 21 counties adjacent to disaster areas, such as Herkimer and Onondaga, may also apply for the loans to cover portions of their losses.

Applicants have eight months to request a loan and must meet all requirements.