The travel advisory list keeps growing in New York. Another state has been added and travel has been discouraged to four neighboring states.

Governor Andrew Cuomo added California to New York State's COVID-19 travel advisory. Anyone who travels to New York from a state on the list is required to quarantine for 14 days.

Massachusetts Connecticut, New Jersey and Pennsylvania meet the criteria for the travel advisory but due to the amount of traffic between the neighboring states, a quarantine isn't viable. Non-essential travel is highly discouraged between the four states.

"We know COVID is spreading at increased rates in other states and New York State is not in a hermetically sealed bubble. The numbers are a reminder that COVID is still here and continues to spread in communities across the state, particularly when people choose not to follow the safety protocols in place to control the virus. We continue to see outbreaks linked to mass gatherings at houses of worship, at weddings and funerals, and other events where the virus can quickly spread," Governor Cuomo said. "Now, 45 states and territories meet the requirements for our travel advisory. We cannot let our guard down and risk going backwards in New York. It's going to take the work of all of us to remain vigilant. Stay NY Smart - wear a mask, socially distance and follow the public health guidance. It's there to save lives."

Travel Advisory List:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Since the coronavirus pandemic hit, 498,646 people have tested positive for the virus in New York state. Over 25,000 have died.

Positive Cases by County

563 in Madison County
2,709 in Oneida County
390 in Herkimer County
5,399 in Onondaga County

KEEP READING: See states hit hardest by COVID-19’s impact on tourism

More From WIBX 950