Nick Vander Tuig pitched eight shutout innings and Eric Filia drove in five runs, as UCLA beat Mississippi State, 8-0, to sweep the best-of-three College World Series in Omaha, Neb. on Tuesday night. Filia, Kevin Kramer and Cody Regis each had two hits for the Bruins, who won their first College World Series championship in school history.

UCLA beat Mississippi State, 3-1, in Game 1 on Monday behind starting pitcher Adam Plutko.

The Bulldogs failed in their attempt to capture the first national title in school history.

More From WIBX 950