Legislation has passed in the state Assembly designating Sauquoit, Freguson, Moyer, Ninemile, Six Mile, Oriskany, Reall, Mud and Wood Creeks as "inland waterways."

The legislation was co-sponsored by Assembly members Marianne Buttenschon and Brian Miller.

Miller say it will make communities along the flood prone creeks eligible for Local Waterfront Revitalization Program funding, allowing them to create plans for redevelopment.  He says they'll also be able to receive flood mitigation funding.

“We are thrilled that this legislation has passed in the Assembly and will help a number of local communities in both of our districts,” said Miller. “This is what happens when legislators work together for the betterment of their communities.

Senator Joseph Griffo has introduced a companion bill in the Senate.

More From WIBX 950