Senator Joseph Griffo says legislation has passed in the state Senate that would designate several area creeks as inland waterways.

The bill, which was co-sponsored by Senator James Seward, would label the Ferguson, Moyer, Mud, Ninemile, Oriskany, Six Mile, Wood and Sauquoit Creeks as "inland waterways."

That would provide local governments with the opportunity to access the Local Waterfront Revitalization Program and apply for funding for flood mitigation and economic development.

“All too often we have seen homes and businesses damaged by flooding along these creeks,” Deputy Minority Leader Griffo said. “This legislation will provide municipalities with access to important resources that can help residents, business owners and others who have been affected by major weather events. I am hopeful that the Governor will sign this legislation into law so that we can get communities the help that they need.”

A companion bill in the state Assembly, sponsored by Assemblywoman Marianne Buttenschon and co-sponsored by Assemblyman Brian Miller, passed by in May.

The bill now goes to the Governor.

More From WIBX 950